for more information
+1 212 366 5700

Joan Jonas
Four Italian artists, including Emilio Fantin, Luigi Negro, Giancarlo Norese, Cesare Pietroiusti and New York-based artist Joan Jonas will collaborate on this performance work. By combining semi-concrete, semi-absurdist methods with a wide variety of media, the artists will create stories, a play, and a collective peformance about sculptures and actual sculptors whose exposure has waned into oblivion.

Forgotten, Continuous, Influx: 30 hours at SculptureCenter

About the Artist
Joan Jonas (b. New York City, 1936) is a major figure in multimedia performance and video art, whose career spans nearly four decades. Jonas earned her BFA in Art History and Sculpture from Mount Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1958, and her MFA in Sculpture from Columbia University in 1965. She began performing in 1968 in churches, friends' lofts, and other unconventional venues, and studied with Trisha Brown for the next two years while continuing to sculpt. Jonas' first experiments with the moving image and the new medium of video also date back to this period, with "Organic Honey's Visual Telepathy" (1968), "Paul Revere" (a 1971 collaboration with Richard Serra), and the seminal "Vertical Roll" (1973) among her first films. She has since performed in such venues as the Kitchen, MoMA, Franklin Furnace, and Anthology Film Archives, all in New York, documenta in Kassel, Germany, and screened her films at the Whitney Museum and Leo Castelli Gallery in New York, the Videotheque de Paris, de Appel in Amsterdam, and the Serpentine Gallery in London. Jonas has been awarded the Maya Deren Award for Video from the American Film Institute, and has won grants and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. She has most recently been featured in solo exhibitions at the Yvon Lambert Gallery and Dia:Beacon in New York, and the group exhibition WACK! Art and the Feminist Revolution at the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art. Jonas lives and works in New York City.

This performance is part of a 30-hour, non-stop series of performances being presented by SculptureCenter for PERFORMA07.

Joan Jonas,
Emilio Fantin, Joan Jonas, Luigi Negro, Giancarlo Norese, and Cesare Pietroiusti: Forgotten Sculptors, with the participation of Steve Piccolo

Showing at:
Nov 3, 2007
3 pm